Equal Opportunity Abuse

Standard

My thoughts and emotions have moved and swirled lately like a dust devil.  I’m a desert girl so that is the best way I can describe it.  Dust devils are commonly seen in Arizona – they are a small whirlwind or air vortex over land, visible as a column of dust and debris   They look and move like mini-tornados but usually only last for a few seconds.  So like the dust devil my heart has had a whirlwind of emotions, and its been tough to stay on top of it.

I’m currently working on part 3 of The Beginning of the End, but this time at a slower pace.  I guess you can say I’m currently “dusting myself off” and then will move forward.  In the meantime I would like to share the following with you.

I’ve been surprised and blessed by the tremendous amount of kind and supportive responses to my blog.  I’m overwhelmed and appreciate each and every single one.  It truly touches my soul in a way that words could never completely describe.  The truth is I am someone who views herself as a “crazy, screwed up,  and at times a tortured soul”.  I don’t admit this for sympathy but to simply be genuine and authentic.  I must also confess that I have a deep well of faith and know this isn’t how my story will end.

When I was younger I would drive myself crazy wishing the abuse had never happened.  Wondering “why me”?  The “what-ifs” can take you down a road that only brings anguish and will drive you mad.  Now I’m older and realize that abuse has no boundaries – it does not discriminate.  It doesn’t respect race, color, religion, sex or national origin – it wants everyone.  Here is a list of some of its victims:

  • Marilyn Monroe
  • Missy Elliott
  • Former President Bill Clinton
  • Christina Aguilera
  • Chevy Chase
  • Mackenzie Phillips
  • Linkin Park front man Chester Bennington
  • Queen Latifah
  • Tyler Perry
  • Terri Hatcher
  • Duane Lee Chapman
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Fantasia
  • Rosie Perez
  • Gabriel Byrne
  • Lee Daniels
  • Carlos Santana
  • Johannes Brahms
  • Billie Holiday
  • Former New York Jet Laveranues Coles
  • Mo’Nique
  • CNN Don Lemon
  • Antwone Fisher
  • Joyce Meyer
  • Rosanne Barr

Like me these people have not allowed their abuse to define them.  They chose to move forward in spite of the scars that were left behind.  The fact that so many people have said to me “I never knew this happened” or “I could have never guessed” in a way blesses me.  It shows that the abuse didn’t win.  I will never stop fighting for my freedom and the freedom of others.  At the same time we all need to wake up.  So many around us are hurting and could be in abusive situations right now.  I guarantee you it is happening in our churches, workplace, schools and neighborhoods.  It continues to happen because we need more people to speak up (and out) about it.

  • Ask questions when things “don’t seem right”
  • Believe children (and adults) when they speak up
  • Step up and make tough phone calls to Child Protective Services or the police when required
  • Pray and then pray some more

Again, thank you for your kindness.  There is so much more to share (in this blog) and my hope is that my painful past and healing journey will find its way into the lives of the people who need it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

